Theme 5 – My Vision on Leadership..!!

“If your actions inspire others to dream more, learn more, do more and become more, you are a leader”  

                                                                                                                      -John Quincy Adams        

Leadership basically means the ‘relationship through which one person influences the behavior or actions of other people’ (Mullins 2013: 369). In this blog, major emphasis is distributed among my views and experiences on leadership.

Fig 1: Are leaders born or made?

(Source: Geddes 2015)

The way we assume leadership influences how we distinguish leaders around us. Suppose, we regard a leader as hero, we create an image of a person who rescues his day as a good leader by communicating, receiving opinions and encouraging his group to make decisions together and vice-versa. Same is the way how we debate on whether leaders are ‘born or made’. According to Drucker (1955), ‘leadership cannot be created or promoted’ (Mullins 2013: 371). I get along with the viewpoint that great leaders are not born, they are made, because,  even though someone is born with certain peculiarities and abilities, the skill of leadership can be developed only through cautious practice (Ruvolo, Petersen and LeBoeuf 2004).

I view leadership as a skill which knowingly or unknowingly accelerates people to follow you either by your confidence and self-esteem (positive attitude), the way you listen and take critical feedback’s, demonstration of compassion and patience with teammates and the way one engages and motivates his team to come up with innovative ideas without any barriers and involvement in major decision making.

There are various leadership styles followed by leaders to manage their organization and employees. One among them is Kurt Lewin’s framework on Leadership styles which dates back to 1930’s, but is quite significantly used even today as it separates leadership styles into three – Authoritarian, democratic and Laissez-faire style which is followed by managers and leaders (Mullins 2013: 377).

The framework is also associated with criticisms. Gastil (1994), quarreled that authoritarian style points to greater member resentment and absenteeism. Similarly, laissez-faire style is inappropriate to situations which require feedback, guidance or appreciation from members (Topics 2016).

 

Fig 2: Lewin’s model on Leadership styles

(Source: Changingminds 2016)

 

In authoritarian style, power is invested with manager alone in making decisions, deciding policies and procedures and interactions within groups shift towards managers (Mullins 2013: 377). John. F. Kennedy (ex US President) had always taken his own decisions without consulting others which regularly created problems. One of them was the Vietnam War. He made a decision that was something unimaginable which after his assassination forced the US to enter in war which caused tremendous losses (Sachs 2013). 

Through the Belbin profile (a method which includes three sections to evaluate one’s own behavioral and social skills) and peer feedback, I received comments as stated below:

blog 55

(Source: From peer review and Belbin profile)

All these feedback’s created a feeling within that I was exhibiting a democratic leadership style. A democratic style is where power is distributed among groups and has greater cooperation within groups. Members have a say in resolving policies, procedures and decision making (Mullins 2013: 377). Indra Nooyi (Chairman of PepsiCo), has cherished herself to employees. Personally speaking, Nooyi has inspired my perceptive on effective leadership because of her leadership style. She takes prior concern on employees’ private lives and also had a distinct vision on company’s future. When there were criticisms about the quality of product sold, she accepted them positively and without being demotivated, she called on a meeting with employees and discussed their views and suggestions in order to regain their goodwill. Motivations provided to employees were at its peak. She praised and appreciated them for every small thing and rewarded them. All these factors led to an upsurge in employee satisfaction and growth of the firm (Ventresca, Larsson and Nga 2015).

Laissez-faire is a leadership style where mangers monitor the self-working by members. Decisions are made instantly to pass the target of competence to employees, supporting them with a freedom of action (Mullins 2013: 377). Warren Buffet (an American business magnate) was recognized for his hats-off leadership approach in the company he owns. After making an investment decision, he communicates them in detail to managers who are then entitled to work as per his expectations. They are also encouraged to do as they like and seek assistance in times of need (Kelly 2013).

Although I believe to have improved my presentation skills, I wish to polish them more as I progress in my studies. This could be achieved only through regular practice. Plus, my decision-making skills are a bit backward when I’m faced with emotional situations. I know this has to be eliminated. For this purpose, I will listen and think critically from both perspectives.

Now, I would like to discuss what I studied from my leadership class, how I improved and why I think people should be led by me through a table.

5 th - 1

5th -2

(Source: My personal views on how I felt the development of leader within me)

I believe that people shouldn’t be led by a person just because of his designation, rather, by his/her attitude and the way they deal with people around them and the society critically. I trust that these traits are within me and will be developing them through each process of my life. A leader should be one who believes in his strengths and does not complain, rather, tries finding a remedy (Pinterest 2016).

 

 

[818 words]

 

 

References

Kelly, E. (2013). Warren Buffet’s Transformation in Leadership: Part 2. Integral Leadership Review, [online] 13(3), pp.161-174. Available at: http://web.b.ebscohost.com/bsi/detail/detail?vid=24&sid=0986d268-8941-4e53-b42e-504234be3fde%40sessionmgr110&hid=116&bdata=JnNpdGU9YnNpLWxpdmU%3d#AN=111382555&db=bth [Accessed 28 Mar. 2016].

LANAJ, K. and HOLLENBECK, J. (2015). LEADERSHIP OVER-EMERGENCE IN SELF-MANAGING TEAMS: THE ROLE OF GENDER AND COUNTERVAILING BIASES. Academy of Management Journal, [online] 58(5), pp.1476-1494. Available at: http://web.a.ebscohost.com/bsi/pdfviewer/pdfviewer?sid=398a407d-8760-4926-9dc3-c710190ecf6e%40sessionmgr4004&vid=6&hid=4107 [Accessed 28 Mar. 2016].

Mullins, L. (2013). management and organisational behaviour. 10th ed. Financial Times/Prentice Hall, p.369. [28 March 2016].

Mullins, L. (2013). management and organisational behaviour. 10th ed. Financial Times/Prentice Hall, p.371. [28 March 2016].

Mullins, L. (2013). management and organisational behaviour. 10th ed. Financial Times/Prentice Hall, p.377. [28 March 2016].

Pinterest. (2016). March 31: Henry Ford reveals the first affordable V-8 on this date in 1932. [online] Available at: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/521713938061079496/ [Accessed 4 Apr. 2016].

Ruvolo, C., Petersen, S. and LeBoeuf, J. (2004). Leaders Are Made, Not Born The Critical Role of a Developmental Framework to Facilitate an Organizational Culture of Development. Consulting Psychology Journal: Practice and Research, [online] 56(1), pp.10–19. Available at: http://web.b.ebscohost.com/bsi/pdfviewer/pdfviewer?sid=d3d39c22-f1ce-40ee-a346-293f16a9107f%40sessionmgr113&vid=6&hid=116 [Accessed 28 Mar. 2016].

Sachs, J. (2013). JFK and the future of global leadership. International Affairs, [online] 89(6), pp.1379-1387. Available at: http://web.b.ebscohost.com/bsi/pdfviewer/pdfviewer?sid=0986d268-8941-4e53-b42e-504234be3fde%40sessionmgr110&vid=12&hid=116 [Accessed 28 Mar. 2016].

Stuart Geddes,PlayBuzz. (2015). Which British Entrepreneur Are You?. [online] Available at: http://www.playbuzz.com/stuartgeddes10/which-british-entrepreneur-are-you [Accessed 28 Mar. 2016].

Topics, R. (2016). Authoritarian, Democratic & Laissez-Faire Leadership Research Paper Starter – eNotes.com. [online] eNotes. Available at: http://www.enotes.com/research-starters/authoritarian-democratic-laissez-faire-leadership [Accessed 28 Mar. 2016].

Ventresca,, M., Larsson, A. and Nga, K. (2015). How Indra Nooyi Turned Design Thinking into Strategy: An Interview with PepsiCo’s CEO: Interaction. Harvard Business Review, [online] 93(11), p.24. Available at: http://web.b.ebscohost.com/bsi/detail/detail?vid=18&sid=0986d268-8941-4e53-b42e-504234be3fde%40sessionmgr110&hid=116&bdata=JnNpdGU9YnNpLWxpdmU%3d#AN=110486577&db=bth [Accessed 28 Mar. 2016].

 

 

32 thoughts on “Theme 5 – My Vision on Leadership..!!

  1. Roshny,
    I think your blog was very informative and detailed . I think this was one was one of your best blogs I’ve been through as it is all about you as a leader and the way you perceive it. The way you explained the framework and the details within them with examples of leaders were quite pleasing.
    I have a small suggestion that you could have explained the Belbin profile you mentioned below in a much more detailed manner so that people like us who haven’t even heard about it could get a more better understanding. Plus, you could have used more images but I know since it’s something about yourself, it’s difficult to include more images.
    As a whole, well done culcroshny.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Alan,

      Thank you for the comment and valuable suggestion. I’m sorry but I really wanted to include my Belbin profile but word counts restricted me. I’ll surely keep in mind to keep my information’s short and crisp so that I can save word counts to include and explain details like the Belbin profile in a much in-depth manner.

      Like

  2. Hi,

    Excellent picture and a touching quote to start of with. By far the best article you have written. I was greatly touched by the Lewins model on leadership. Though you had mentioned about the democratic leadership in the previous blog I guess, the other styles were not explained. But, when you applied it all together here, it was a good read. I was impressed by the way you expressed how and why your thoughts on leadership were influenced by the CEO of Pepsi.

    I suggest that, even though the tables you created exemplify your learning and development experience, you could have made them short. I think it had too much content. But, it was certainly good on reading to see how one person developed their leadership skill.

    Good work Roshny

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Flourry,

      it makes me feel glad on receiving each genuine feedback from you regarding my blog. I truly believe to exhibit a democratic leadership style and maybe that’s the reason why I was influenced by Indira Nooyi.

      I made a table with an intention to express my views on how I felt my growth as a leader took place knowingly and unknowingly. But, I will make sure that while uploading tables like this in future, I would try minimizing my words. Thank you.

      Like

  3. A good attempt i can say. structure wise good . one suggestion what i have is that the definition could have been omitted.
    otherwise excellent!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Suraj Haridas,

      Thank you for your feedback. Since I was discussing my point of views on leadership, I felt that i should have started it with a definition and that’s why I had introduced it in the beginning.

      Like

  4. The example you used is very good, which can make me understand quickly and clearly.
    But I think some citation in your blog are wrong, maybe you can check it and correct. That will be better.
    To sum up, this is a nice blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Miranda,

      Thank you for your suggestion. I hope you felt my blog appealing. I would surely look upon my references to make sure that nothing has gone wrong. Thank you once again.

      Like

    1. Thank you Ivy. I believe a true ethical leader should be one who comes up with his work with proper evidences and research. I tried to make my part of explanation simple and clear with evidences so that if anyone had doubts, I could help them with clarification of it.

      Like

  5. Good Job.

    You summarised most of what you have said about leadership in your previous blogs and introduced new frameworks, which provide us with new information. But I think since your blog is about you vision on leadership, you should talk more about your ideas and all what you have learned about leadership. Also I suggest that you talk more about you leadership style and if you think you will be a good leader in the future. Try to include your Burbin Profile and what characteristic you have that will make you a leader. If you can apply leadership framework to one of the project when you were a leadership it will be a plus.

    Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi regraguk,

      It really makes me satisfied on receiving sincere comments from you. I believe to have summarized my vision on leadership along with certain examples linked with them. I would want to include my Belbin profile in-depth in my blog but my word count restricts me. Thank you once again for such sincere suggestion.

      Like

  6. Great work and informative.
    I liked the way you have shown the types of leadership roles in literature and your viewpoints.

    However in comparison to your previous post in change, your writing is informal to some extent and is not cohesive.
    This can be further improved by giving examples of leadership role models and discuss their characteristics and success.

    I would have liked more analysis or a timeline regarding your leadership improvement.

    Overall, it has been a great read

    Best regards

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Khairiya abdalla,

      Thank you for such valuable feedback. As per your suggestion, I included a table in which I could somewhat exhibit my step wise growth as a leader. Hope you liked my views on leadership.

      Like

  7. Hi Roshny

    Your theme vision on leadership is quite interesting and when I go through it, I find narrations and quotes of many which are quite informative. In your Fig. No.1, leaders born or made and Ruvolo’s statement was great. Your hard work and enthusiasm on vision and leadership is really appreciated.

    A successful leadership is the byproducts of great vision and hard work. “The very essence of leadership is that you have to have a vision. Good successful leader’s vision is boundless.

    In my opinion you should have given more clarifications and your own views. Most of them are the views of others. You could have exposed your vision on leadership.

    All the best and waiting to see your next blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Joseph CLonth,

      It indeed is great pleasure hearing from you sir. Thank you for such valuable and precious comments. I believe that one studies and improves from his mistakes. I admit that though it was a blog where I had to express my own views on leadership, I had included views from various other people so as to evidence my findings.

      Thank you sir once again and I would surely make further modifications as per your suggestion.

      Like

  8. Hello Roshny

    Your new blog and theme is ofcourse the continueation of your previous blogs.

    You have given enough examples and narrations about vision on leadership. Models on leadership styles and figures used to illustrate them were quite excellent.

    I believe, leaders articulate and define what has previously remained implicit or unsaid; then they invent images, metaphors, and models that provide a focus for new attention. By doing so, they consolidate or challenge prevailing wisdom. In short, an essential factor in leadership is the capacity to influence and organize meaning for the members of the organization.”

    Managers are people who do things right and leaders are people who do the right thing. The difference may be summarized as activities of vision and judgment—effectiveness verses activities of mastering routine—efficiency.

    I feel the narrations was less compared to your previous blogs. You could have provided more explanations and comments of your own like what made you think like a leader or something like that. But it was also good that you linked the leadership style you felt with another leader.

    All the best.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Margaret Joseph,

      I get along with you perspective that managers do things right and leaders are people who do right things. Thank you for those suggestions and will surely take it in a positive way. I’m happy to learn my drawbacks and thereby improve them so that I can achieve the heights I dream of.

      Like

  9. Good work Roshny.
    You seem to have done quite a good lot of reading on the leadership traits of renowned leaders. You have shown your way to becoming a leader in a good way.
    A point which i think needs clarity is where you said that leaders made are better than those born. it is not an easy way to grow to be a ‘leader’. Moreover, i felt you could emphasize a bit more on your visions.
    An even more illustrative one could be appreciated far better.
    However, worth a read blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Jincy Joseph,

      Thank you for those fruitful words. I’m happy to learn that my blog had something beneficial and interesting for you. I would never say that leaders are not born. Leaders like Mahatma Gandhi, Mother Teresa, were not trained leaders, rather, from their childhood onward they exhibited the traits of a leader. But, everyone according to my perspective are not born leaders. Even if they have such characteristics within, if a platform is not provided to express them, I think it’s just of no point.

      Like

Leave a Reply

